Homemade Tortillas

I have a confession…

I really can’t cook.

For the first year and a half of “wife-hood”, I’ve cooked only a handful or two of “actual” meals. – Mostly pastas, and cheesy pastas, and more cheesy, pasta-y things. =) It’s hard to go wrong with cheese!

Otherwise we’ve relied mainly on convenience items – frozen meals, delivery and simple homemade meals – really simple.

Lucky for me, I married a very patient man who also happens to be a really good chef!

But a stay at home bride still has to cook eventually…. especially when we’re trying to cut back on our spending! So today’s venture into the homemaking-world was an uber-cheap and super-simple mexican soft taco. – An easy dinner for Bradley to take with him to work, which is always a plus!

Flour tortillas are already very inexpensive, but when I saw a 3 lb bag of tortilla mix at Walmart for $2.98 and compared it with the packs of only 8-10 pre-made for the same price, I decided to at least give it a shot – Why not?

They actually ended up only taking about 5 or 10 extra minutes of my time, and were fantastic! My tortillas were a little smaller and thicker than store bought, but they actually tasted quite a bit better. They were just the right blend of convenience and homemade to work for me. Plus I think they would keep pretty well if you wanted to make them in advance, or even freeze the balls of dough to cut out an extra step!

Top with fresh-cooked rice and yummy chili beans – so delicious! =) Next I’d love to try these with hummus and greens!

4 thoughts on “Homemade Tortillas

  1. It sounds like something I would love to eat. You really can’t go wrong with any Mexican dish!! I would love to take you and Vivian out some day for lunch, what do you think? I can’t believe that I haven’t met her yet. She is precious and I would love to hold her.

    • I would love to go to lunch with you sometime Aunt Francis! You’re so sweet to offer. You know you’re welcome to come out here any time, or Vivian and I can meet you when you’re free – I will message you my number and we can work something out. =)

Leave a Reply

