Vivian – at 2 weeks

Before Vivian was born, I had an assumption that as a photographer, I would be taking *tons* of beautiful photos every day of my little angel…. yeah, notsomuch.

All of my fantasies of photo-filled days went straight out the window as we settled in with our newborn.

When she slept, I stared… Captivated. Amazed.

When she smiled, I laughed… Smitten.

And when she was awake, taking in the new world around her, I didn’t want to miss a single second.

Though the photographer in me felt guilty for letting time slip away without taking advantage of her beautiful, photogenic moments, all I wanted to do was cuddle my baby.

But finally, on Vivian’s 2 week birthday, we were out at my parents’ for an afternoon visit, and had brought our camera in hopes of trying at least once to get something – anything! – better than a cell phone picture.

I am so glad that we did.

These photos from the first few weeks of Vivian’s life are some of the most precious to me – they are filled with so many sweet memories of her soft newborn skin and little squealy cries and funny expressions. . .

**sigh** I’m gonna go cuddle my baby now. =)

Leave a Reply

